Dr. Stephen R. Heller Receives the 2015 Patterson-Crane Award

ImageThe 2015 Patterson-Crane Award ceremony was held on Tuesday evening, September 8, 2015, at the Clintonville Woman’s Club in Columbus, OH to honor Dr. Stephen R. Heller for his work on the development of the IUPAC International Chemical Identifier (InChI). Dr. Heller described how and why InChI was developed and how it is being used today to find chemical information. 

The Columbus and Dayton (Ohio) Sections of the American Chemical Society sponsor the Patterson-Crane Award for contributions to chemical information. It is international in scope and given in honor of two outstanding members of the sections: Austin M. Patterson (1876-1956) and E.J. Crane (1889-1966).

ImageThe biennial award consists of a $3,000 honorarium and a personalized commendation. The award is funded by a bequest of the Patterson family to the Dayton Section, by the Helen G. Crane Fund of the Columbus Foundation, and by the Patterson-Crane Award Fund of the Columbus Section.

The Austin M. Patterson Award was established in 1949 by the Dayton Section to acknowledge meritorious contributions in the field of chemical literature and especially documentation of chemistry. Dr. Patterson, the first recipient of the biennial award, was recognized for his leadership in organic chemical nomenclature and his work as editor of Chemical Abstracts. There were 13 additional recipients of this award, including E.J. Crane, who was editor of Chemical Abstracts from 1915 to1958. Subsequently, there was a desire to honor and establish an award in his memory. In February 1975 the ACS Board of Directors accepted a proposal by the Dayton and Columbus Sections for a jointly sponsored Patterson-Crane Award. Through 2010 there have been 31 recipients of the joint award. (Past recipients of the award are listed at:  http://columbus.sites.acs.org/pcawardmore.htm).

Steven Rosenthal, Chair, Patterson-Crane Award Committee