CINF Technical Program Highlights

Image

I would like to thank all of the organizers, speakers, and poster presenters who contributed to the New Orleans Meeting. I heard many compliments throughout the week and hope those that attended were as equally impressed with the session line-ups as I was. I would also like to thank the many CINF sponsors whose contributions enhance our Division programming. I hope you will take the opportunity to read the various symposium reports in this issue that have been submitted by some of our New Orleans organizers.

Two of our sessions were recorded as part of the ACS Presentations on Demand program and will be made available to registered attendees soon (http://presentations.acs.org/common/default.aspx). The sessions were:

  • Linking Bioinformatic Data and Cheminformatic Data Scholarly
  • Communication: New Models, New Media, New Metrics

Looking forward to Indianapolis

As I am finishing the scheduling of symposia for the Meeting in Indianapolis this fall, we have another wide-ranging program of over 100 presentations in addition to 18 posters designated for Sci-Mix. A major highlight will be the Herman Skolnik Award Symposium in honor of Dr. Richard “Dick” Cramer on Tuesday, September 10, 2013. The symposium will proceed as follows:

Morning session R. CramerOrganizer, B. MasekPresiding

8:30 Introductory Remarks
8:35 Adventures in CoMFAland. R. D. Clark
9:05  Adventures in drug discovery: For now we see through a glass, darkly. R. C. Glen
9:35 Three paradigm shifts in computer-assisted drug design: The inventors and by-standers. Y. C. Martin
10:05  Intermission
10:20 Look back at 3D-QSAR and Dick Cramer. A. J. Hopfinger
10:50 Evolution of QSAR from regression analysis to physical modeling. A. N. Jain
11:20 Scientific analysis of baseball performance. D. W. Smith

Afternoon session R. Cramer, Organizer, T. Stouch, Presiding

2:00 Introductory Remarks
2:05 Synthesis planning: Something about reactions, representation, relationships, and reasoning. W.T. Wipke
2:35 Think local, act global: Some challenges in cheminformatics and drug research. T. I. Oprea
3:05 Intermission
3:20 From library design to off-target prediction: A wide array of topomer applications. B. Wendt
3:50 Whole template CoMFA: The QSAR grail? R. D. Cramer
4:35 Award Presentation.

 

Proposed CINF Program for the Fall 2013 ACS National Meeting

Back to the Future: Print Resources in a Digital World Grace Baysinger graceb@stanford.edu
Before and After Lab: Instructing Students in 'Non-chemical' Research Skills Andrea Twiss-Brooks atbrooks@uchicago.edu
Charles Huber huber@library.ucsb.edu
Chemistry on Tablet Computers David Martinsen d_martinsen@acs.org
Martin Braendle braendle@chem.ethz.ch
CINF Scholarship for Scientific Excellence Guenter Grethe ggrethe@att.net
Computational Profiling and Repositioning as Promising New Ways of Drug Development Andrew Hopkins andrew.lee.hopkins@mac.com
Violeta Isabel Perez Nueno pereznueno@harmonicpharma.com
Current Challenges in Cheminformatics: Exploiting Information and Knowledge in Structured and Unstructured Environments Neil Kirby nkirby@dow.com
Dirk Tomandl FreddieM007@gmx.de
Exchangeable Molecular and Analytical Data Formats and Their Importance in Facilitating Data Exchange Antony Williams tony27587@gmail.com
Robert Lancashire robert.lancashire@uwimona.edu.jm
General Papers Jeremy Garritano jgarrita@purdue.edu
Graduate Student Research Symposium in Cheminformatics, Information Science, and Library Science Gary Wiggins wiggins@indiana.edu
Herman Skolnik Award Symposium Richard Cramer cramer@tripos.com

Integrative Chemogenomics Knowledge Mining Using NIH Open Access Resources

Rajarshi Guha rajarshi.guha@gmail.com
Tudor Oprea toprea@salud.unm.edu
Paul Clemons pclemons@broadinstitute.org
Joint CINF-CSA Trust Symposium: Semantic Technologies in Translational Medicine and Drug Discovery David Wild registrations@wild-ideas.org
Jan Kuras jankuras@hotmail.com
Role and Value of Social Networking in Advancing the Chemical Sciences Antony John Williams tony27587@gmail.com
Jennifer Maclachlan pidgirl@gmail.com
Sci-Mix Jeremy Garritano jgarrita@purdue.edu
Science-Based Policy Development in the Environment, Food, Health, and Transport Sectors William Town bill.town@kilmorie.com
 

I look forward to seeing many of you in Indianapolis. Registration and housing for the Fall Meeting will open on May 29, 2013.

Future Plans

The Spring 2014 Meeting will be held in Dallas, TX, March 16-20. The theme of the Dallas meeting will be Chemistry and Materials for Energy. I will be handing over the reins to Erin Bolstad of ChemAxon, CINF Program Chair for 2014, and will be assisting her in the transition. Abstract submission will most likely occur in September-November, 2013. In the coming months, we will be soliciting potential symposia organizers and session topics. If you are interested in organizing a symposium for the Dallas meeting, please feel free to contact me at jgarrita@purdue.edu.

Jeremy Garritano, Chair, CINF Program Committee