2013 CINF Scholarship for Scientific Excellence

The scholarship program of the Division of Chemical Information (CINF) of the American Chemical Society (ACS) is designed to reward graduate and post-graduate students in chemical information and related sciences for scientific excellence and to foster their involvement in CINF. The program has awarded scholarships at each of the ACS National Meetings since 2005 and has made 47 awards in total. The awards at the Spring 2013 National Meeting in New Orleans were sponsored by Accelrys.

Applicants presented their posters at the CINF Welcoming Reception and the Sci-Mix session. Two scholarships valued at $1,000 each were presented by Dr. Keith Taylor of Accelrys to the winners at the CINF Luncheon during the same meeting.

The names of the recipients and the titles of their posters were:

Julian C. Thibault, University of Utah, Department of Biomedical Informatics, Salt Lake City, UT,
iBiomes: Managing and sharing large biomolecular simulation datasets in a distributed environment with iRODS.
Co-authors: Thomas Cheatham III, Julio C. Facelli

Amir Seddik, University of Vienna, Department of Medicinal Chemistry, Vienna, Austria,
Probing the substrate selectivity of the serotonin and dopamine transporter using structure-based techniques.
Co-authors: Harald H. Sitte, Gerhard F. Ecker 

Keith Taylor, Julian Thibault, Amir Seddik, Guenter Grethe

The next scholarships are sponsored by the Royal Society of Chemistry and will be awarded at the 2013 Fall ACS National Meeting in Indianapolis, IN.

Guenter Grethe, Coordinator, CINF Scholarship for Scientific Excellence