2012 CINF Scholarship for Scientific Excellence

ImageImageAccelrys sponsored two CINF Scholarships for Scientific Excellence for spring 2012.  Sixteen applicants for the scholarships presented posters during the Division’s Sunday Welcoming Reception.  Students from the USA, UK, Poland and Austria participated.  The scholarship recipients, Freya Klepsch and David Foshee, were recognized during the Division’s Luncheon where they each received their award checks.  Details of the winning presentations follow:

Structure based pharmacophore screening for new P-gp inhibitors. Freya Klepsch, K. Prokes, Z. Parveen, P. Chiba, G. F. Ecker, Department of Medicinal Chemistry, University of Vienna.

COBRA: Computational brewing approach to predicting the molecular composition of organic aerosols. David. Fooshee, T. B. Nguyen, S. A. Nizkorodov, J. Laskin, A. Laskin, P. Baldi, Institute for Genomics and Bioinformatics, University of California, Irvine.

Andrea Twiss-Brooks, Chair, CINF Awards Committee